News


Dear Friends, Family & Fans,

It’s time to make an announcement. You all know I’m an author (clearly.) I have been self-published and traditionally published. I’ve published both as Kim Mullican and for the last few family members that don’t know (unlikely since my family loves to talk,) I publish erotic content as Anita Cox. I haven’t really kept it a secret but since I tend not to enjoy talking about myself, there is a slight chance some of you did not know. I digress.

The publishing world is ever-changing. There has been so much news and drama about the business, it’s become white noise for some. There are a few publishers behaving badly. I’m not referring to any one publisher, but authors talk. I can tell you, there are a lot of unhappy authors out there. There are a ton of complaints, most of which I’m not going to spend time talking about. But I did listen. I did take note. For fans…some of your authors aren’t getting paid, getting paid on time or getting accurate reporting of the books they have sold. There has been abuse that would just make you shake your damned head.

I fumed on this for awhile. It’s been over a year of private conversations with my colleagues, mostly as Anita Cox, about these issues. I’ve chatted with some really fantastic writers  who are, or have considered, running away and never writing another word. I just…I couldn’t watch it happen.

So instead of sitting here pissed off, I decided to do something about it. I found a private investor who isn’t in the publishing business (and he wishes to remain anonymous.) I assembled a small but dedicated team and I formed Syn Publishing, LLC.  (You can find out everything we at Syn stand for by visiting the website.)

My small, but dedicated team, has agreed to work for peanuts until Syn is off the ground. Syn has received offers from editors and cover artists to donate their time and talent because they have also grown fed up with what’s going on and they want to help. They can see that our desire is to give authors a higher royalty split, to earn the money that the house receives and to support their authors, to advance their careers and to have a mutually beneficial relationship. Because Syn has policies in place to spend a portion of its share of royalties advertising for our authors. Why? Because when they grow, we grow. Because we plan on tending to our garden, so it can be as fruitful as possible.

I spent a ton of time in the service industry. I had no idea that the skills I learned while carting around hot plates, wiping up spills, taking customer complaints etc. would serve me in this business. It may have been, ahem, decades ago, but I learned then that happy employees / partners, create happy customers. Treating people with simple human decency and respect seems like it should be common sense. Alas, common sense isn’t so common anymore.

This long blog post serves as a warning to those that know me. This industry is brutal. Someone will try to smear me eventually. Someone will say that my time as Vice President of a trucking company doesn’t qualify me to run a house. (Which is why I have people to cover the areas where I’m weak.) I’m sure they’ll dig up whatever they can. Quite frankly, I hope they do. You haven’t really made it until someone tries to take you out. I took a proactive step in this situation. I contacted some of the bloggers (even some not so pleasant ones) and sent them the contract and an offer to give them any information they’d like. Syn IS totally transparent. So I must be as well.

So dear friends and family, tighten your bootstraps. This is going to be one hell of a ride.

synweb copy

6 thoughts on “News

  1. I went self publishing for that reason. Heard a lot of sketchy things going on with the houses and I decided to avoid them. Hope everything goes well with this venture. If there’s any help you need, I’m here. Thanks for sharing the info and good luck!!

  2. Thanks for sharing the information you have on the publishing world. It is sad that larger publishing houses should act so horrible towards the creative hands that feed them. I wish you all the success with your new publishing company. I will definitely take a look. 🙂

  3. Pingback: News | Erotica

Amuse me

