I Will Not Negotiate with Terrorists


I’m about to share a huge mistake with you. I’m not ashamed – I was new to the game and had NO IDEA what I was doing.

Back in 2005/6 ish, I’d finished a book and searched around on ways to get it published. I stumbled on a company called Publish America. GASP!

Foolishly, I published with them thinking this was a normal publisher. Wrong. A simple search now will warn you to stay away from them as they are a vanity publisher. But now, they have a new name. I’ll come back to that.

After the long contract was up, I’d learned a lot: editing, plot, prose etc. The book I published through them was…not good. It needs a major overhaul. The only blessing is that my name has since changed. I do not market the book. I do not want anyone to know I wrote it in case they get their hands on it. It’s just awful.

Oh, they’ll give me the rights back. For cash! Yep, these dirty rotten bastards want to charge me money to get the rights back to the book I WROTE, to a contract that HAS EXPIRED.

Here’s the latest email I received, showing me just how willing they are.

As you have seen, unfortunately [Redacted] has sold no copies in the past six months. In fact, it has produced no sales in more than thirteen months.
At this point you may want to have your book’s publishing rights reverted back to you.
We can arrange that.
Go to www.americastarbooks.net/ReturningRights and instruct us to return the rights to you. In the Ordering Instructions box, write your name and the title of your book. We will forward the termination documents to you.
There are no strings attached to this termination except the $99 processing fee that covers our administration costs and our de-listing obligations to vendors and/or wholesalers.
Thank you for having been an America Star Books author; it has been an honor for us.
And if you choose to stick around a little longer, thank you also!
America Star Books, LLLP
–Denise Pickett, contracts maintenance dept.
 This is not a processing fee. This is ransom. They are holding this book hostage. And yes, PublishAmerica is now America Star Books, LLLP. Same wolf, different sheep’s clothing.
 
Beware of companies like this. You don’t need them to publish. If you want to go it alone, the major eTailers make it easy to upload your book to them and you can go to Createspace for print. Or, if you want an actual publisher – go find an agent and push that novel!
 
Learn from this rookie mistake. I’d like America Star to take a long walk off a short pier. I won’t be paying any ransom. They can choke on it.
9 thoughts on “I Will Not Negotiate with Terrorists

      • Haha I have novels like that. I actually have one that sits on my desk as a book holder. It’s an abomination for my own eyes, but I wrote it when I was like 17 so I thought it was the most amazing piece of work at the time. Now, I’m like wow, this is complete and utter crap!

      • I just wanted to say I started reading “I’m okay, you’re not” today and wow, I’m glued to this book. If I didn’t need to get stuff done today, I would’ve finished it in one sitting. I’m half way through so far. Fantastic novel, and engrossing story!

  1. I made the same mistake as you. “The Joys and Disappointments of My Life So Far” by Joylene Miller-Rios is being sold world wide in different languages and I have yet to see any royalties.

Amuse me

