Making my last words count. Happy 2014!


I could recount the year, mentioning all of the things I’ve been through this year.  Those things probably matter more to me than you so, we’ll skip that.  I could make it funny and I could make it witty.  Instead, I’ll make it count.

Many people fear the number 13 and after this past year, I can see why.  But we’re headed into a new year and I think it is important to think about things that matter.  Go ahead and make your resolutions to lose weight, quit smoking, swear less etc.  We all do it every year.

But this year, I challenge you to do one thing to make the world suck less.  I got involved with Project for Awesome.  I went ahead and added the link for you because you can learn more by going there but all in all, it’s a bunch of YouTubers making small infomercials for various charities.  Meanwhile, people can donate funds.  This year, almost $870k was raised.  Money will be disbursed among the charities.  It is just a bunch of people called “NerdFighters” doing what they can to reduce WorldSuck.  It is the brainchild of Author John Green and his brother Hank – who does so much it matters not to put his job title in this sentence.

I digress, some of these charities actually use the YouTube video as a commercial for themselves.  (Cool Right?)  It really is a great project.  I couldn’t settle on ONE issue to promote so I ended up just spreading the word and donating my time the best way I could.  Next year, I’ll have this done ahead of time…

Since I’m on this topic of passion, I’m friends with a few animal rescuers on Facebook.  The pictures they post just yank my heart out and stomp on it.  So I’m going to take this time to reach out.  Animals become your family.  They depend on you and when you hurt them, fail to meet their base needs and don’t love them back… it breaks them.  Dumping your dog off at the shelter because he or she isn’t convenient for you is almost as close as throwing your child out of the house.  It hurts just as bad.  You may not think so, but I swear your dog does.  They are pack animals and without the pack, they are destroyed.

I have a mastiff.  This means bruised thighs from his tail, cleaning slobber off of nearly ever surface, feeding him a raw meat diet which is HOLY NASTY BATMAN, washing his blood off the walls (he has happy tail – he gets so excited, he breaks the tip.)  He is about as inconvenient as it gets.  But, like having a child, we don’t do it out of convenience.  He was just MORE than we expected, even after researching them online before accepting him as a gift.  But I became his mom, his pack leader and he guards me with his life.  His entire mental and emotional well-being depends on a firm hand (which for him is a firm “No!” and he cowers like, you beat him,)  and my love.

I offer the following evidence:

Without makeup and with the 10 holiday pounds, he still thinks I'm awesome!

Without makeup and with the 10 holiday pounds, he still thinks I’m awesome!

013 014 015

Be good to your fellow humans and be sure to take care of your furry family too.  Their lives are already relatively short, so let’s make them count!

Happy 2014!  Let’s make this year count and do at least ONE THING to make the world suck less.

Amuse me

