Author Spotlight: Angela Orlowski-Peart


Today, I’d like to introduce you to a very interesting lady, a transplant from Poland.  Please help me welcome the beautiful, talented, multicultural and multilingual Angela Orlowski-Peart.  Thanks for being willing to appear on my blog. I’m really looking forward to promoting you and your work.

Kim Mullican: Tell us the most interesting/different childhood experience that you had? 

Angela Orlowski-Peart: I was born and raised in Poland. Back then my country was a part of the communist bloc. I remember empty store shelves, long lines to get food or anything that we needed, and government-issued stamps that allowed us to buy only two pairs of shoes per year. And martial law, which enforced a ten o’clock curfew. But I had a loving family and a lot of good friends. We stuck together, helping each other, and always watching each other’s back.

KM: You had a very interesting person who strongly influenced you. Who was that and why was he/she so important?

AP: Definitely my dad. He has taught me to work hard and always believe in myself. Because of him, there is nothing that I can’t achieve if I put my heart into it.

KM: You have an interesting hobby. Please tell us about it.

 AP: I paint in watercolor. It’s an interesting medium to work with, definitely challenging but rewarding as well. I often paint a picture for a relative’s birthday or as a Christmas present.

KM: What kinds of books do you read? Are they in the same genres in which you write?

AP: I read all kinds of genres with the exception of horror and erotica. I simply don’t have any interest in those. But the majority of the books on my Kindle or on my bookshelves fall into various subgenres of Young Adult, since that is what I mostly write.

KM: There was a place from your past that you’ll always remember?

AP: My birth country, Poland. It is such an incredibly beautiful and rich in tradition place. Two of my secondary characters in Forged by Greed are actually Polish: Ivona and Lusia. Ivona is the first generation and Lusia is born in the U.S. to Polish parents.

KM: Are most of your works available or do you have what a drawer or closet of “not quite there” work? Do you think any of those old projects will see the light of day?

AP: I have a few unfinished projects. I consider a couple of them good material for near-future books or short stories. But most of my ideas might remain hidden in some dark corner of my hard drive. Although I don’t want this to sound like there is not much on my back burner. Quite to the contrary. I am working on the next two books in The Forged Series plus on a sci-fi novella, which will introduce a brand new series.

KM: Because we writers tend to start out telling real life stories, I wonder if you have a funny or exciting event from your past that you’d like to tell us about?

AP: Oh, there are so many funny events in my past. I have lived not only in Poland and the U.S., but also in Copenhagen, Denmark, where I studied English. One day, while hanging out in downtown Copenhagen, I decided to buy a pair of jeans. While browsing through piles of various jeans styles I was approached by a very good looking salesman. He was about my age, and we started to chat. I noticed that he had a strong Russian accent and I asked him how long he has lived in Denmark. He told me how he came to Copenhagen with an organized tour and on the very last day met a girl soon to become his wife. He stayed in the country of course, but they both wanted to relocate to the States. I don’t know why, but this put a seed of an idea in my brain, and soon I made my decision to move to the U.S.

KM: Do you have beta readers in your family or circle of friends, or do you trust your own instincts before you publish your works?

AP: I belong to a critique group made of very talented Young Adult authors. We formed this group in the spring of 2010. We are not only critique partners but also very good friends. I really can’t imagine writing without their input and support. I have a few invaluable beta readers as well, who are my friends and writers.

KM: Do you think of yourself as a particular type of writer, and how do you think that influences the decisions you make about your novels?

AP: I don’t know if there are particular types of writers; maybe only particular types of genres. I write exclusively in English, which is my second language. I don’t write in my native Polish anymore, although I have in the past.

I like to think that my brain is somehow divided into a “Polish language zone” and “English language zone”, although I speak more than those two languages. There are areas where those zones overlap, and maybe because of that my books appeal to readers in both cultures.

KM: What is your most recent book release? And could you tell us about it?

AP: Forged by Greed is the first book in The Forged Series. It is a Young Adult paranormal romance, although it’s far from a syrupy-sweet love story. The plot is firmly set in reality, which also makes this book contemporary. There are elements of high fantasy and a lot of mythology as well. Add a good dose of action to the mix and you have a book that should appeal to a large audience.

 

KM: Will there be sequels/other stories connected to this one? Or do you plan on exploring other realms or even other genres next?

AP: There will be several sequels. Forged by Greed introduces the readers to the series. I already have a premise for the books two, three, and four. Book two—still untitled—will be published in the summer 2013.

KM: After writing your novel, did you wish you could have changed something? Do you think you will address that issue in future sequels?

AP: I have spent a few years writing Forged by Greed. There were many revisions and even major changes to the original characters. At this point the story is exactly what I have always wanted it to be.

KM: Though we have every expectation that you will live well past 125 years, when you finally find rest, what would you like your tombstone/obituary to say?

AP: Ask me that on my death bed! But if I had to decide now, it would be “Here lies Angela, the author forged by persistence.” J

KM: You sound very stalkable…  so tell us where we can track you down!

AP: website/blog http://www.angelapeart.com

Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3228200-angela-orlowski-peart

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AngelaOrlowskiPeart

Twitter https://twitter.com/#!/Angela_Peart

Google+

https://plus.google.com/104353393440599372773?hl=en&tab=h#104353393440599372773/posts//p/pub

LinkedIn http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=72040634&locale=en_US&trk=tab_pro

Pinterest http://pinterest.com/angelapeart/

KM: Thanks for taking the time with me today. 

AP: Thank you, Kim. This was a fun interview. And thanks to everyone who stopped by to read it. I invite you to connect with me on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, and other social media platforms that are listed above.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Angela Orlowski-Peart

  1. Pingback: Welcome To My Official Website. | Angela Orlowski-Peart

Amuse me

