When a good plan goes wrong


 

This week I started with a plan.  I started with determination.

We are getting ready to list our house so I’ve been packing all non-essential items.  I cleaned and cleaned and… my son told his friend our house smelled “like a flower’s ass,” which is about the best compliment you can get out of an 18 year old boy.

Then, I sat down to take a break and check my email.  All of the sudden it started to smell funny, like bad perm solution.  I started walking around the house sniffing to see what had happened and then… I heard it… the waterfall.

I ran down the stairs of the basement to see a geyser of poop water coming out of the pipe in the ceiling.  HOLY HELL NOOOOO!

Our city has a combined sewer system.  When we finally got some much needed rain, 3 inches fell within an hour overwhelming the storm drains and it backed up into the basement… where my children’s rooms are.  I wanted to scream… instead I found my husband’s rubber boots and waded through turds and dirty water to unplug everything.

It took 2 1/2 days to clean and sanitize everything.  We lost a couch, a laptop and a monitor.  I did more laundry in 2.5 days than I do in 2 weeks.  Because I spent about 18 hours a day in the basement, all the cleaning upstairs went to … well undone is what I’ll say.

I’ve kept a sense of humor about the whole thing, but it’s time to get back to work.

Have you ever had a plan fall to crap?  How did you overcome the challenge.

3 thoughts on “When a good plan goes wrong

  1. Pingback: Hello World! | Author Kim Mullican

Amuse me

