Creme Cheese Masochism


Building conflict is essential in a novel.  This has been drilled into our heads over and over again.  It’s easy to build conflict with a killer on the loose with real, well fictional, life or death situations.

Conflict… doesn’t always have to be life or death.

I’m the epitome of conflict as I have an obsession with baking in the midst of bikini season.  I mean really, who bakes a rhubarb pie, two loaves of bread and dinner rolls while walking miles each day with her daughter to try to remove the evidence of our creme cheese addiction?

I’m a masochist.  Today, we add weights to our workout routine… and maybe another mile.  I’ve gone up two sizes and if this doesn’t stop, when I walk it will look like two muskrats fighting in a gunny sack when I walk.  I like my cheese on a bagel, not on my legs!

At least I'm adding WHOLE GRAIN

My daughter has put on 8 pounds since the end of school.  But, she was a size zero so she could afford the extra weight.

Someone should lock me out of the oven.  But then again, I’m creative.

I’m considering seeking professional help for my baking addiction.  I’m certain it has something to do with growing up poor and not wanting anyone to be hungry… or the smell of anything baking in the oven…or a nesting instinct…  Maybe I have mommy issues.

HELP?

Any other masochists out there?  How do you keep yourself in check?

 

6 thoughts on “Creme Cheese Masochism

  1. Hi! Yes, I’m just like you. But for years now, I’ve been ok with just taking a bite or two of whatever I bake. Then I”ll have another couple of bites the next day. I never eat an entire dessert in one sitting. Once you get used to it, it works! (And I also bake low fat desserts when I get a chance!) 🙂

  2. I’m a fan of honoring our hunger and bodies. Sometimes this means looking deeper to figure out what lies beneath those cravings. Other times it means digging in, enjoying and knowing nothing horrible ever derived from snacking–except for shame and, in some cases, allergic reactions. 😉

  3. I was the thinnest I’ve been since divorce last year. I was working nearly 60 hours, not eating right and I was on my feet all day. I started having bad pain in my stomach and was afraid to eat for quite awhile. My gallbladder took a crap and had to be removed.

    The spouse and I sat down and decided that for us, it made more sense for me to quit, and write, than to work those crazy hours.

    I firmly believe my body still feels hungry after months and months of only eating once a day… and nothing good either.

    Plus, it gives me a reason to keep baking. I don’t gorge, but I do enjoy.

  4. It’s hard not to do the things that make us happy. Baking can make me happy, oh, how do I know! And eating can make me even happier (*snort*).

    But two years ago I stopped eating and lost 14 pounds in two weeks. Not healthy, I know, but I looked awesome in bikini. Then I promptly put 10 pounds back on. Last Christmas I stopped eating again. I really don’t know why. It was weird, since eating didn’t… feel good. I know, totally weird, especially during Christmas. So I lost over 10 pounds again in just three weeks. And then… you’ve guested it, I have gained it all back. Argh.

    Now I’m waiting for the next strange stage of my life when eating won’t be something I want to do, heh.

  5. Why do we women starve ourselves?

    I know what you mean Angela…

    I’m about 5′ 4″ tall and got down to 94 pounds during my divorce. The first place emotions hit us is weight. We either drop it by the buckets, or pack it on like a heavy winter snow. So not right!

  6. Too funny Kim. In the midst of MANday preparation I keep baking chocolate chip cookies. I can’t seem to stop either. The kids love ’em. Once their baked I can’t resist them either!

    You are not alone!

Amuse me

