Experimentation


I’ve been doing a lot of tinkering lately.  I’ve done about all I can with LOSING CONTROL and just await some feedback before I make it available for Kindle.

That brings me to my next point.  I’ve recently taken one of my books down off of Barnes & Noble to enter it into the KDP Select program.  It allows readers to lend the books out.  Because what I need more than a professional editor, are readers.  I don’t particularly care that I’m not technically selling the book (though you do get a portion of profits through the fund.)  What I’d like to do is to extend my readership.  Because readers read more of what they like.

I’m also working on another novel and doing something I’ve not yet done.  There is zero paranormal or fantasy aspects to my current work in progress.  The book only contains living breathing humans.  It’s difficult as a ghost or two can really spark my creativity.  Alas, not everyone enjoys ghosts, vampires, werewolves or special abilities.  Some people cannot (or will not) wrap their minds around such things.

I started this story a few months back and only managed to write a few chapters and I was completely bored with it.  My mind was still deep in the paranormal world and I was having difficulty escaping it.

But I’ve entered the story again and I’m deeply invested now and think I have an intriguing story.

As a writer, it is important for me to keep improving, to keep practicing my skill and to continue along my journey.  As a reader, I enjoy switching genres and authors to find those I love.

Anyone have any experience in the Kindle Lending Library?  What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Experimentation

  1. Hi Kim.

    I have had great success with KDP Select. I have given away almost 120,000 books this year. It takes readers a long time to finally read all those books, but my experience has been that once they read them, they come back for more.

    I hope you have as much luck with the program as I have.

  2. I have done well with the giving away part and it has brought in more buyers, but the Prime Members/borrowing part, Nothing! I tweet and share that Prime Members can borrow for free, but… Not sure how others are getting people to borrow. If they have a secret for it, I’d love to hear it.

Amuse me

