Author Stacy Eaton


KM:  Welcome Stacy!  Thank you for taking time out to stop by my blog.  Tell us about your books.

SE:  Kim – Thank you so much for having me today!!! I love visiting different blogs and meeting new people!

Right now I have two books out that are part of a series.  The series is called “My Blood Runs Blue” and will have a total of four books.  Right now, My Blood Runs Blue and Blue Blood for Life are available in print and e-book versions.

The series stems around a police officer Kristin Greene who in book one learns a whole lot about herself, her history and what her future is supposed to be.  While investigating a homicide of a young woman, she crosses path with Julian and Alexander, two vampires who seem to know her from a past she does not know about.

During the first book she learns about the paranormal world and how it affects her.  Using a heavy base on police procedure, the story seems more realistic. In book two the story goes deeper and Alex is kidnapped.  Kristin’s life is in jeopardy and everyone works together to protect her and save Alex.

The series is meant to be suspenseful and intriguing while being full of twists and turns that most people don’t see coming, lol… Well actually I have yet to hear someone say they say most of what happens in the books coming.

KM:  These are some of my favorite genres.  Tell us how you came to love this genre yourself.

SE:  Well, I have been a police officer for almost twelve years. Writers know to write what they know and know what they write. Being in the career that I am in makes it very easy for me to write the criminal side of the book.

As for the paranormal, I love it. My life is so full of drama from my job and just life in general and I love to step out of reality and fall into fantasy.  It is a great way for me to relax and unwind. I will admit that the first vampire novel I ever wrote was the one with the sparkly vampires in it, lol…

 

KM: Who are your favorite authors?

SE: This is a hard question for me because I like a lot of author for different reasons.  I think the biggest author that I like is J.R. Ward.  I love her writing and her stories.

Some other paranormal authors that I enjoy are Lara Adrian, Tim O’Rourke, Charlaine Harris, Richelle Mead, Larissa Ione and Natasha Brown.  When I step out of paranormal books I enjoy reading authors such as Melissa Foster, Amy Manemann, T.M. Souders, Suzie Ivy and Erin Kern.

 

KM: Your cover art doesn’t mention a publisher.  Are you choosing the self-pubbed route?  What framed your decision?

SE:  I am self-published – but I went through Outskirts Press, Inc.  I made the decision on what and how my book was going to be published while they held my hand and made sure I did what I needed to do to get it on the market.

While I was writing my first book, I sat down and started to think about what I was supposed to do once it was finished. I had absolutely NO CLUE!  I did not know any authors, was not active on twitter or facebook with anyone who was published or wanting to get published.

I did some research online and came across Outskirts Press, Inc. They were able to answer my questions and had a team of people that worked with me from the time I signed up until the time that my book went to print.  Everyone worked with me and made me feel comfortable, from the editors to the graphics designs and marketing people.

KM:  A lot of my followers are also fellow writers.  Describe your writing process for us.  What works for you?  How long did it take you to write, edit and prepare for publishing?

SE: What I did a year ago is a lot different than what I do now, lol…Back when I wrote “My Blood Runs Blue”, it took me 9 weeks to write it and then 3 months to go through edits, graphics and formats with Outskirts.  “Blue Blood for Life” took me 12 weeks to write and another three to publish.

These days my writing time is cut down majorly with the marketing I do and the work I do with the World Literary Café.  I spend a lot of my time helping other authors which does cut into my writing time, but I find it rewarding to share what I have learned.

When I can write, I put in my ear buds turn up the music and lose myself in the characters.  Some days they talk to me in my sleep or while I am doing errands.  Driving around at work on patrol, I have had numerous conversations with my characters in my mind.  Usually I am working out a conflict or figuring out the next step.  Once I get that done, I sit and write. I write fast and it just flows.

KM:  Such a colorful story has to have a colorful artist!  Please tell us about yourself.

SE:  As I mentioned before I have been a police officer for almost twelve years.  I love investigations and my heart is in the forensic field.  I am a puzzle person, so I love to put the pieces together and see what happens when the click into place.

I am also married to a police officer and our schedules can be quite interesting at times. My son is currently serving in the United States Navy and my daughter is in elementary school and working on her black belt in Tae Kwon Do.

Right now I am working hard on getting a new book out. “Whether I’ll Live or Die” is not part of my series and steps out of the Paranormal world to deal with a very real life serious issue, Domestic Violence. I am almost done writing it and hope to have it in the hands of an editor very soon.

KM – Thank you Stacy for stopping by and sharing your book with us.

SE:  Kim – thank you so very much for having me!! I had a great time and I look forward to hearing from your readers.

Contacting Stacy Eaton:

Website: http://stacyseatoncom.fatcow.com/

Facebook Fan Page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stacy-Eaton/191880767522183

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/StacySEaton

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4826711.Stacy_Eaton

Video Links:

My Blood Runs Blue: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFkm-UVmzYg&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Blue Blood for Life: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rNJa9S5W2iU

Purchase Links:

Website: http://stacyseatoncom.fatcow.com/

Amazon (kindle, paperback and hardcover):

http://amzn.to/kVcxhL

One thought on “Author Stacy Eaton

Amuse me

