The Big Bad Wolf


Yesterday, Valentine’s Day, I brought home our new puppy.  And much to my chagrin, I spent the night on the couch with the flu.  It was horrible having a splitting headache and a puppy screaming to get out of his first time in a crate… I gave in at 4 a.m. and let the little dude out of jail. Sigh.  He fell asleep on me and I was able to catch a few more winks.

I know, I know.  I can’t let him get away with murder.  But I was sick and in desperate need of sleep.

I digress.  This evening when I opened my Google Reader, I ran across no less than five separate posts about the Big Six whining about Amazon being everything from a bully to the big bad wolf.  Now, as a reader, traditional publishing has really pissed me off.  I no longer buy books from my favorite authors.  Why?  Because their eBooks are price outrageously and/or they’re spitting out shorts for the price of a full novel.  Faux pas!  Until the publishers get with the program, I’m not supporting them, and unfortunately, some of my favorite traditionally published authors.

As an author, marketing is so overwhelming.  My time and funds are limited in order to try to make the world aware that I and my books exist.  Amazon and Barnes & Nobel alike make it fairly easy to publish, but other than wallpapering twitter and facebook I don’t know what to do.  I do what I can to foster relationships as Kristen Lamb discusses in her book We Are Not Alone.  I keep writing books as Joe Konrath suggests.  That takes time.  Especially if you don’t want absolute garbage with your name on it.

My Ratings and Reviews are high, but sales slowly continue… and I mean slow.  I’ve seen little spikes in sales, but nothing monumental.  The nutty thing is the little spikes in sales don’t seem to come from anything I’m doing.

So I continue to plod along, writing books, trying to develop relationships and put myself out there.  Hopefully I’ll catch up with the changes soon enough and ya’ know, hit it big. 😉

So what about you? Any marketing tips?  Anything that’s working for you?

Amuse me

