I suck at marketing and Amazon’s Breakout Novel Award


I come up with ideas all the time on books, clothing designs, decor, food – you name it.  But I really really really suck at marketing.  I don’t want to be one of those tools that is constantly pushing my shit on Twitter.  I hate it when others do it.  I really dislike commercials so why would I turn my twitter account into one?

My latest idea was to turn my window into a dry erase board.  Much like in Beautiful Mind where they used wax pencils to work out equations.  

and this works for me since this is my workstation.

So you see, I’m being environmentally sound instead of wasting post it notes that my cats just play with until they are a chewed up, wadded up mess.

I only wish I had great marketing ideas.  Funds are limited so… yeah.

On a separate note, and a rather exciting one, Immortal Decision has been submitted to Amazon’s Breakout Novel Award.  My fingers, toes and eyes are crossed.  They only have to choose mine out of 4,999 others.

Back to writing, I hope to have the first draft complete by the end of February.

7 thoughts on “I suck at marketing and Amazon’s Breakout Novel Award

  1. Why does everyone hate on ads?

    I think the problem is that people hate incessant ads, or BADLY DONE ads. Aren’t there any commercials you liked? Those are ads.

    I have one tweet per day about each of my books — four total — on my Twitter account. That works out to 1,460 per year. I’ve posted 10,000+ tweets, so if you follow me, about 10% of your content will be ads. That’s way less than network TV, where in excess of 30% is advertising time. I also change them up from time to time, so you get different snippets or quotes from the books.

    I also post ads on my blogs — sponsored ads that I do for other people — and those ads sometimes draw the most comments, because I put a lot of thought into them. They’re not just “Hey, here’s a thing you’d like, and a picture.” The ads are meant to be read and enjoyed like any other part of my blog.

    So my point is: Post about your book on Twitter. I found this blog post because I saw your tweet about it, which is a form of advertising just like Michael Offutt’s snippets from his book are advertising and just like Will Ferrell sitting and talking with Conan O’Brien is a form of advertising.

    Just make your ads fun/interesting/well-done, and people will like them.

    There. I’ve done my part for capitalism today. I can rest easy in my Fortress Of Moneytude. (Patent pending.)

    • Thanks! I worry about over doing it. I want to sell books, but don’t want to lose followers or annoy people…

      I am trying to get into the marketing. It doesn’t do me any good to write books if only a few people know about them.

      Thank you for stopping by. I still don’t know why I can’t comment on your blog…grr

  2. I suck at marketing, too. My advice: Read up as much as possible BEFORE you have to do it. Read stories about how other authors did it. See what’s out there, and/or get people to help you do it. Good luck, and thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

      • Hmmm. Then maybe do it in a way that feels right to you? Marketing doesn’t have to be annoying. Just get your book out there any way you can, and encourage people who have tried it to tell their friends, etc. Attend events and maybe see if you can hold some of your own at bookshops, etc. It’s going to take a little bit of money, at least, unfortunately, and it’s definitely a huge job. Hope you find something that works.

  3. I hate marketing, about once a month I’ll tweet something about my stuff, but I quickly forget about it for another month or so. I remember once tweeting something about my book and right after the most relentless self promoter I’ve ever seen on twitter made a generic comment that people doing what I did are a pain in the ass. I found the whole thing quite surreal.

    My point, do what your comfortable with. Someone will be offended no matter what you do.

Amuse me

