Author Spotlight: Shannon Esposito


 

KM:  Welcome Shannon!  Thank you for taking time out to stop by my blog.  Tell us about your book, KARMA’S A BITCH.

SE:  Darwin Winters, reluctant pet physic, is determined to leave her family’s paranormal past behind and lead a normal life. So she strikes out on her own and opens up a new pet boutique in St. Pete, Florida. When a local homeless man she befriends is found dead, and the police assume it’s a suicide, Darwin has no choice but to use her gift to help collar the killer.

She adopts his grieving mastiff, Karma—and with the dog’s help—tries to piece together the events of that fatal night. Accepting the visions is one thing, but can she solve the mystery without revealing her powers to the jaded, yet drool-worthy, detective in charge of the case? Or will the killer put an end to her psychic sleuthing and bury the truth for good?

KM:  It sounds like a cool premise.  I love the play on words you have in your title.  Tell us about this Mastiff.  Is he an English Mastiff?  Why is he grieving?

SE: Thanks! Yes, Karma is a toothless English Mastiff who was a stray until he adopted Mad Dog, a homeless vet ( who Darwin also befriended after she fled to St. Pete). Karma and Mad Dog had a very special bond, always together except for the night Mad Dog was murdered. Karma tried to save him, but it was too late. (I truly believe animals can feel emotions: happiness, guilt, grief)

KM: I agree on your feelings about animals!  Your story sounds very interesting.  Can we expect any dialogue between Karma and Darwin?

SE: Well, like any pet lover, Darwin talks to the dog a lot, believing he can understand, maybe not the words, but the meaning or intention behind them. She gets images from animals in distress, so this is how he communicates with her.

KM: Your cover art doesn’t mention a publisher.  Are you choosing the self-pubbed route?  What framed your decision?

SE: You know, I had so much fun writing this book, creating these characters and having their adventures play out in dreamy St. Pete, I decided I didn’t want to give up control of this series. So, I didn’t even shop this one around to agents or publishers. I do have another paranormal mystery that I am shopping around but who knows.

The publishing industry is changing so much; I’m not sure what the best plan is anymore. But I have to say, I really like the idea of being in control of everything about my work. (Insert maniacal control freak laughter here!) *KM:  So inserted!

KM:  A lot of my followers are also fellow writers.  Describe your writing process for us.  What works for you?  How long did it take you to write, edit and prepare for publishing?

SE:  I actually used to be a pantster but, with mysteries, I had to learn to plot. So, when I get an idea for a mystery, I get out my plot board with four columns (Act 1,2, Midpoint &3) and my index cards and start piecing together scenes until I have enough of a structure with red herrings and clues in place to begin. I also used to be a perfectionist but I’ve learned to just get the vomit copy down. This takes about four months. Another two months to edit and prep and voila. Even with all this preparation, the process still seems magical to me.

KM:  Such a colorful story has to have a colorful artist!  Please tell us about yourself.

SE:   I’m an introvert and would rather stick needles in my eye than talk about myself so (KM: I think most authors feel the same way!), I’ll just refer you to standard author fair, my bio:

Shannon Esposito lives in a magical gulf coast town with fluorescent sunsets, purple dragonflies and the occasional backyard alligator. Her mysteries transport readers to Florida without the hefty price of airfare. Although she knew from the age of five she wanted to be a writer, she briefly entertained the idea of being a scientist, until she found out it involved math, which gives her hives.

She shares this little corner of paradise with her husband, twin boys and dogs. If she’s not writing, you’ll find her coddling one of the above, hiding with a book or daydreaming with her toes in the sand.

KM- Thank you Shannon for stopping by and sharing your book with us.

SE: Thanks for being such a gracious blog hostess, Kim!

You can buy Shannon’s book on Amazon or Smashwords now – Barnes and Nobel coming soon.

You can visit her at http://murderinparadise.com/

14 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Shannon Esposito

  1. Pingback: First Interview on My New Mystery! «

  2. Shannon’s stories are always good, and sure to keep you reading. I loved the interview, Shannon, and wish you all the best on the new release. I’ll be getting it on the Nook when the B&N version becomes available.

  3. We offer the very best practical and most applicable solutions. All our Sydney plumbers are experienced and qualified and are able to rapidly assess your issue and discover the very best answer. 262759

Amuse me

