Where’s my bio-hazard suit?


Back in September, my spouse had a birthday.  Being the wonderfully awesome wife that I am, I purchased tickets to see three bands, two of which were his all time favorites.  The trio included Thin Lizzy, Black Label Society and Judas Priest.  The show was this past Saturday.

Arriving at the venue, a few things were immediatley apparent.

A.  I am getting old.

B.  I was surrounded by old people.

C.  I may need to be vaccinated.

First, I would like to add that I’m not a huge fan of heavy metal.  There are a few metal bands I like:  Ozzy, Iron Maiden, Metallica are just a few.  I’ve been to many concerts in my life and most were outdoor venues.  I would have to vote Iron Maiden for loudest of all time, but probably the best live show in history.  Ear wax literally ran out of my ears at that concert.  Now that I’ve grossed you out . . .

This event had to be the largest visual example of an oxymoron that I’ve seen to date.  There were young folks at the show, but there were also some white haired old men and a few *clears throat* middle aged women.  Here’s the thing, heavy metal or even rock concerts often provide an interesting blend of testosterone, alcohol and usually drugs.  Stop clutching the pearls, it’s true.

So I was not surprised that the meat head that was standing behind us in the “assume sardine can position* was ready to fight everyone that surrounded us.  An older woman standing next to me was terrified and begging her husband to relocate.

When Black Label took the stage, I was glad we didn’t get closer.  It wound up being a bio hazard as the lead man enjoys spitting all over himself and the audience.  (Excuse me while I go ingest a bottle of vitamins.)  Thank goodness we were 15 rows back.

Enter Judas Priest . . . this band is not for the faint of heart.  I’m not even Catholic and I found myself doing a Hail Mary when the band broke out into a song called Nostradamus.  The tour was called Epitaph as this is Judas Priest’s last tour.  My husband was more than elated to see this band before they were done forever.  After 40 years of touring, I think it’s a wise choice.  There’s just something very odd about a man approaching 70 wearing studded leather and moving about the stage like Uncle Fester.

Still at that age, the guy put on a hell of a show and his high falsetto is unmatched.  With a trained ear you can hear his awesome range.  The light, stage and pyro show were also of top notch quality.

But watching Uncle Fester on-stage and the mixture of young people headbanging and fist pumping, while the older folks moved their head as much as their fused discs would allow, was a sight to be seen – one I’ve never dreamed I’d witness.

Despite the fact that we were packed in like sardines, spent three times as much for drinks than they were worth and all I could smell was ass and armpits – it was a great time.  I was with my love, we were on a date and I was entertained.   Not to mention, I have several characters to add to my NaNoWriMo project.

Now I just have to wait for my hearing to return.

3 thoughts on “Where’s my bio-hazard suit?

  1. I’m madly in love with metal, I’m not so thrilled with others that like it. I quit doing big time live shows a long time ago. When everyone is 17 and you’re all running around yelling, singing with the band and stage diving, it’s awesome… when everyone you see is 45 and dressed just like they did when they were 17, I find that I’m worried about people breaking a hip on stage, it’s time to lay it down and stay home.

    Glad you and the husband got to have the experience. Rock on!

Amuse me

