Side effects of NaNoWriMo


One week of NANO down.  I have to say that it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.  I found my motivation, my ambition and HELLO MUSE!

To further my elation, I’m making friends over at the NaNo site.  Or rather – they are referred to as writing buddies.  One, in particular has actually inspired a character in my book.  This is why I love meeting new people.  You just never know when someone will inspire you.

I have very strong feelings about NaNoWriMo since it is my first year.

Pros:

You sit down and write and nothing else.  That’s right – no editing.  Don’t even think about it, that way you can reach your write goal.

You are introduced to other writers and seeing their progress brings about my competitive nature.  Hey, it’s not my fault.  I’ve been in sales far too many years not to want to squash the competition.

There is a community (which I love community) and a network of people to help keep you motivated, focused and on track.  What better situation can a writer have?

Cons:

You can’t edit so when you see a plot hole formed – you can do nothing.  Highlight and move on.  You’ll have to fix it later.  That sucks ass.  There are no NaNo police that will come back to check your laptop to see if edits have been made, but you’ll know… and kick yourself.

You don’t want to do anything but write (and the dishes are piling up.)

The dog has to pee and she’ll loudly remind you that if you don’t get off your ass and open the door, you’re going to have to stop for far longer to shampoo the rug.

Oh – and you look something like this.

  

7 thoughts on “Side effects of NaNoWriMo

  1. Your nano and my nano aren’t the same thing. Mine is me staring at my screen, screaming “Why the fuck did you just do that? You just killed the main character 2 chapters into the goddamn story!”

    Now, my eavesdropping live in grand-nephews are dropping F-bombs like they’re at Pearl Harbor. Of course, it’s cute when they do it.

    The moral? I’ve used Nanowrimo to teach kids to cuss.

  2. My Nano side effect: I was thinking about, you know, writing, and forgot pizzas are sized by diameter, not circumference. I was rather surprised by what was waiting for me when I went to pick up my 24″ pizza…

  3. Be the precise blog if you have wants to learn about this topic. You comprehend considerably its nearly onerous to argue to you (not that I personally would needHaHa). You undoubtedly put a new spin for a topic thats been discussing for some time. Nice stuff, simply nice! 894342

  4. Terrific paintings! That could be the type of data that are meant to be shared about the net. Shame on the seek for no longer positioning this publish higher! Come on more than and consult with my internet site . Thank you =) 177148

Amuse me

