Nano & an Icon


Since diving into NanoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) a few days late, I didn’t have much time to create a story.  So I did something a little crazy.  I wrote a novel, approximately 180,000 over-written words.  It’s been a story I tried to rewrite several times, but would become frustrated with and quit.

I sat for an entire day with an open excel spreadsheet open, making a timeline and changing it.  Who was my protag, what do they want and why, blah blah blah.  Then when I started writing, I didn’t follow the spreadsheet at all.  Of course, I did, because I’m a pantster.  This little hitch in my giddy-up is why this novel has been a challenge to boot.  I actually think my problem is that I have two novels that I’m trying to smash into one.

Either way, I’m trying to change my tune.  Any changes that come as a result of me becoming a pantster are being added/amended to my timeline.  I need to be certain there are no major plot holes this time.  The challenge with NaNoWriMo (at least for me) is that you’re not supposed to edit as you go.  Just write the damned novel already!  Hence the time crunch of a month.

In other news, we’ve lost an icon, maybe not in the literary world, but in media nonetheless.  Andy Rooney died at the age of 92.  I truly enjoyed Andy’s clever reporting and wit.  I enjoyed watching his commentary despite the crazy eyebrows that would certainly distract most.  What made Andy popular is exactly what I liked about him.  Andy said what he thought, despite the fact that it could be racy or cranky at times.

Andy is an icon, an artist.  Rest in Peace Andy.

Amuse me

