Leap of Faith


Some of you may have noticed something… my posts have become somewhat… few and far between.  My day job had eaten up so much time I barely had time to breathe let alone read or write… anything other than promotional material that is.

A lot of things suffered.  My kids, barely seeing their mother, suffered.  My marriage also suffered.  My house is in shambles.

Then, as I finally broke down, something special happened.  My husband, in the most incredible showing of faith in me asked me to quit my job and stay home to write.  He offered me all the time I need to find a part-time job, making significantly less money.  He did this because he believes in me and my ability to write.  That is an incredible leap of faith to take in me.  I am humbled.

So, I took a leap of faith of my own.  Already one day behind, I jumped on the NaNoWriMo bandwagon.  For those of you who don’t know, its National Novel Writing Month i.e. write an entire novel in a month.  What? Am I Crazy?  I don’t even have a story thought out, plotted, characters developed.  And to add to the nuttiness of my decision, I’m not even tackling it today.  Today is day 2 of the month.  Yep, I’m a wild and crazy gal.

But, due to our work schedules, the house is a disaster, the litter boxes stink and the dog needs a bath.  I can’t be creative with all that chaos.   So after this post, I’m going to turn on some high energy music and tackle the mess.  It shouldn’t take me all that long and I might be able to start writing tonight, but I’m not planning on it.  In sales you under-promise, over-deliver.  In my personal life, if I set lofty goals in a short-term, I just frustrate myself to failure.  I’m bass-ackward and it’s okay.

So while I fold laundry, do dishes and hit the dog with the pressure washer, I’ll be thinking about my story.  I have ideas.  The voices in my head that I transform into written word often come to me when I’m doing mindless work.

To all my NaNo peeps – good luck!

6 thoughts on “Leap of Faith

  1. Hey, I’m right there with you. Except I started yesterday. But, the first year I participated I did it in little more than a week… maybe it was closer to two. But regardless, missing a day is nothing. I generally play catch up thanksgiving week.

    You husband sounds awesome. My first wife told me to quit my job, that we could make it just with her working. Yeah, that lasted for like, 2 days. She hated working and I was a horrible house cleaner person. So I got another job and she quit hers, literally after a few days.

    Then we got divorced. But the work thing didn’t really have anything to do with that.

    Good luck.

Amuse me

