In Honor of Kristen Lamb


A few days ago, Kristen re-published her Top Ten Reasons to Become a Writer.

Number 5 on that list mentions the attire of writers…because we’re a weird bunch… She says:

5. Because what other job comes with a dress code of thrift store jeans and juvenile T-shirts?

Do you just love Superman, Mickey Mouse, or even Mr. T? I pity the fool! Feel like expressing yourself on 100% pre-shrunk cotton? Hey, if you were a 37 year old accountant or airline pilot, others might think that an entire wardrobe comprised of Xena, Firefly and Battlestar Galactica T-Shirts meant you were emotionally immature or “touched in the head.” Now that you’re a writer, you can be…eccentric. Hell, throw in a beret just to be extra annoying.

Well in honor of Kristen’s blog, words of wisdom and cheekiness, I’m going to share a little gem.  A few years back, a friend of my mother’s who is a photographer offered to take head shots for me.  Since he had a new camera, there would be no charge.  Fantastic – no price better than free.

Well, despite the fact that I needed a professional head shot, and those were rare in the two rolls of film, I got this little gem. . . and I NEVER EVER wear hats like this.

Here I am, floating into thin air, dorky hat included.  I absolutely HATE this picture of me.  But hell, it was free!  But oh wait, there’s more… in case I wanted to put myself out there as a nudist, I have this little wonder:

This photo just SCREAMS professional, right?  What the hell was this guy thinking?  Oh wait, never mind.

20 thoughts on “In Honor of Kristen Lamb

  1. Caulked and Primed! Ha! I just spit come coffee.

    I contacted the lady that did my ex-husband’s law firm head shots. Holy expensive batman! Yeah, I think with the digital camera, I can probably have my 14 year old take a good head shot. She’s no slouch with a camera, but yes, I will Spackle first too!

  2. LOL…You never know, you may be set for life when that hat comes into style. It can’t be worse then some of the hats I’ve seen on awards shows 🙂 Great, funny post!

  3. LOL, I actually love those photos. My brother is taking my pictures for me soon. It sounds like a recipe for disaster, I know, but I’m positive there will be no “va-va-voom” photos of me happening!
    You’re a brave soul.

  4. If youre still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then youll know which is right for you. 180464

  5. I was suggested this blog by way of my cousin. Im no longer certain whether or not this put up is written by him as nobody else realize such detailed about my trouble. Youre fantastic! Thanks! 575054

Amuse me

