The biggest decision of my life


Since getting sucked into publishing via vanity press back in 2006, by ‘those who shall remain unnamed’ I have taken a lot of time before publishing again.  I’ve done a lot of research and quite frankly, things have been changing a lot within the last few years.  I’ve been following Joe Konrath for awhile and reading his words of wisdom while also following Janet Reid, since she’s like an icon in my own mind and probably one of the industry’s most notable agents.

It has taken me a long time and a lot of decision making.  Those who have followed me for more than a few weeks know I’ve bounced back and forth between the idea of traditional publishing and self-publishing.  But I sat and thought about what I really wanted.  What matters to me?  Of course, I would love to be filthy rich.  Who wouldn’t?  But what makes a difference to me – what makes me feel good- is receiving an email or text message from someone who said they couldn’t put my manuscript down.  I know I succeeded with a response like that.

The final decision came after reading Konrath’s last blog post.  For those of you who don’t know, Konrath is a best selling author and he’s self-published.  He’s sold more eBooks than anyone (if my facts are still accurate.)  Crouch is also a best selling author.  So, if they were on the witness stand, they’d be my expert witnesses!  Back to my point, this last blog post of Konrath’s was a dialogue between he and Crouch on the subject of publishing.  One of the main points of the blog, at least what stood out for me, is CONTROL.  When you self-publish you have the ultimate control.  You’re not locked into an 18 month or more publishing process.

Now, here are the risks.  I’m paying for cover art because…I’m artistically challenged and having to do it digitally is just a gruesome thought.  But, I cannot afford an editor.  The spouse and I live a humble existence and I don’t have the funds to pay for professional editing.  So, I have control (somewhat) to be sure I don’t have shitty cover art, but my editing skills could be my downfall.  So, I was left with relying on others to help me edit and polish.

Now here’s the thing.  If an avid reader spots errors that six other sets of eyes missed and slaps a bad review on my book, it could be harsh, it could effect sales and ultimately, my ability to reach the reader.  Now I just finished a book, published the traditional way, and I still found errors, including  a period at the beginning of a first sentence of a new chapter.  Small, insignificant little bugger, but I saw it.  I was forgiving and kept on reading because I enjoyed the story.

I hope my readers do the same.  I’m not perfect.  I’m not an editor.  But I create worlds, and people and conflict.

So there you go.  As soon as I have my artwork, I’ll be up on Amazon.

11 thoughts on “The biggest decision of my life

  1. I feel the same way! That’s why I’m choosing to indie publish my books too. I would rather have a handful of readers enjoy my babies than jump through a thousand industry hoops to have minimal control over my work. You’re not alone. *high five*

  2. Soon after study quite a few the websites along with your internet site now, and that i genuinely appreciate your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark internet site list and are checking back soon. Pls have a appear at my internet page likewise and let me know in case you agree. 421556

  3. Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers? Im kinda paranoid about losing everything Ive worked hard on. Any suggestions? 518445

Amuse me

