The other man


I’ve been cheating.  And I feel really bad about it – and the guilt is eating me alive.  Maybe it started because of summer.  There are more hours of daylight in a day, bands to watch, bikinis and barbecues.  Oh, and a little more partying.

I had the best of intentions.  I poured over my manuscripts all winter long, devoting many hours and a lot of brain power.  But once the kids were out of school, there was more cooking and cleaning to do.  There were holidays and barbeques and kids that really wanted to go to the beach.  So I turned my back on my work and spent time doing all of the above.

I hope to recover from my stretch of writer infidelity and I hope my manuscripts forgive me for abandoning them and getting distracted from the commitment I made when I started them.  I have so much work to do, and more books that are begging me to write them.  There just doesn’t seem to be enough hours in a day…because I still need to bring home the bacon!

And while it may seem silly to make this analogy; I feel like a big old cheater!  So forgive me, manuscripts.  You weren’t abandoned and I promise to devote more time to you.

Has anyone else suffered from summertime distractions?

3 thoughts on “The other man

  1. I have to confess to having allowed myself to sleep in a couple of times in the last few months and miss out on my hour of writing before work. I have a few days off next week so I’m hoping to make up for some lost time then. Good luck with beating the distractions.

Amuse me

