What happened to Tradition?


It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to see that tradition is a thing of the past.  When writing, we need to make note of social changes and norms and tradition is no longer chic.

We have non-traditional weddings, non-traditional cake and non-traditional parents.  Traditional publishing is now (for some not all) being set aside for ePublishing and Self-Publishing.  Traditional Marketing doesn’t work for book sales anymore.  Kristen Lamb, author of We Are Not Alone–The Writer’s Guide to Social Media, and my own personal marketing guru discusses this on her blog.  Ok, so she’s not my own personal guru, but she’s a witty, smart, beautiful genius who dares to share her expertise in this field with all we struggling writers. (Did I suck up enough there? 😉  Kristen’s blog is super helpful.  Her advice is priceless.  If you’re looking to peddle your books, I suggest stalking following her now!

I don’t have any plans to pursue traditional publishing.  I just don’t think it’s the right fit for me.  However, I also know that if I’m going it alone, or semi-alone I need the advice of masterminds like Lamb.  I also will need to come down with a serious case of insomnia so that I can get all I need accomplished.  It’s my passion (writing, that is,) so I don’t mind.

Let’s take a hard left turn, shall we?  Speaking of non-traditional . . . I discovered probably one of the funniest ladies around recently thanks to my teenage daughter.  Her name is Jenna Marbles.  Now, I’m doing something I don’t normally do.  I’m posting a video.  I WILL disclose that this young lady, while smart enough to attain a master’s, uses foul language – a LOT of foul language.  If you find this offensive, please do not watch.  If not…

This is Jenna’s self-defense move for unwanted advances.  I actually used this recently and it works. . . yes, I actually did this.  Now you know how unbelievably quirky I can be!

Enjoy the video!

4 thoughts on “What happened to Tradition?

Amuse me

